Not your usual Brownie

2014-11-21 19.08.10
I like to think I’m not a terrible cook and a baker. When I first started dating my boyfriend I think he had a completely opposite opinion on that. One of the first cakes I decided to make for him was a brownie. I mean it’s chocolate, everyone should like chocolate (I truly believe so) and it’s dead easy to make, what can go wrong? Well, I proved that a lot of things can actually go wrong. For starters you can split the chocolate while melting it, then you can mix the eggs to quickly and make them loose their volume and after that, when you think that in the grand scheme of things it all doesn’t really matter so much in a brownie, you can burn the damn thing. In all honesty I think it was the first cake in my life that I just simply thrown out. A perfect way to impress a boy ๐Ÿ™‚
2014-11-21 19.06.48
After that incident I decided to simply not make a brownie. I mean, there are so many great chocolate cakes out there, I don’t think it even makes it to the top 5 of my list. But last week I was just flipping through one of my favourite cake books ย – Sweet by Eliza Morawska (she also has an amazing blog, check it out if your polish is decent enough)ย and found this fascinating combination of chocolate and prunes. I made a bit lighter than a usual brownie by beating the eggs with sugar until very pale and fluffy. If you fold in the chocolate very carefully the cake will be airy and not as heavy as some brownies can be. It’s a perfect cake for an evening when you just got back home and have a chocolate craving – any day until spring as far as I’m concerned ๐Ÿ˜‰
Just a note to those who actually read, I’m not stopping with my Patisserie challenge, in fact I even went to Paris last week to get further inspired ๐Ÿ™‚
And as we are approaching December very fast I decided to start a full on Christmas baking – there is so many cookies to make that will make perfect gifts. So as of next week a Christmas Patisserie will start! Yey!

Brownie with prunes
adapted from “Sweet” by Eliza Morawska
  • 200 g of dark chocolate (70% cocoa), broken into small pieces,
  • 160 g butter, cubed,
  • 150 g sugar,
  • 4 eggs,
  • 80 g of flour,
  • 4 g of baking powder,
  • 300 g of prunes, soaked in a glass of strong tea (Note: add a shot of rum to it if you like it).
  1. Melt the chocolate and butter in a bowl placed over a pan with simmering water (make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water). Mix until melted. Let it cool slightly
  2. Beat the egg with sugar until they are pale and fluffy.
  3. Carefully fold in the chocolate into beaten eggs in small batches.
  4. Sift in the flour and baking powder and fold gently.
  5. Strain the prunes and add them to the mixture.
  6. Pour into a flat baking tray.
  7. Bake in the middle of the oven at 180 C for about 25 minutes. Make sure you check on the cake after around 15 minutes, depending on the size of your tray it might need more or less time. Check if it’s done with a wooden skewer.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

