Pate a Choux

IMAG0441

Last week I promised that as soon as the December starts I will prepare you all (or nobody) for Christmas with some nice holiday recipes. But, the oven I ordered a couple of weeks ago arrived (finally!) and I just had to test it. It’s an oven in which I can actually be sure that the temperature I’m setting is the temperature inside is what I set it to be. But the best of it all is that I can actually see the baking process (my previous oven didn’t have a light inside – it was an ancient model..). Being able to add all those new variables to my recipe I decided to go for something a tiny bit more complicated – a choux pastry. I really like choux, they are so light and by them self are quite plain it’s all about the filling in this case.

2014-11-30 19.21.30

The classic dutch way is to fill the with a whipped cream. I don’t really liked whipped cream tough, never did (and as a kid I would take it very seriously to remove all the whipped cream from any dessert I would be served, even if it meant that my ice cream will be almost completely melted by that time..). So I decided to go for a vanilla pastry cream (check the recipe here). It’s perfect. If you use cornstarch it will be quite light. I made tarlettes from the cinnamon short pastry (short pastry from here with a tsp. of cinnamon and a finely grated zest from 1 orange) and filled them with the pastry cream and topped with filled choux. It was delicious. I think another great filling would be the orange cream I made here. Anyway, you can stuff them with anything. I’m really tempted to try something more savoury now and stuff them with a blue cheese cream.. Will let you know how it goes 🙂

P.S. I made the small tarlettes and have a couple leftover afterwards. They worked as a pretty awesome dessert when filled with an orange cream and covered with a caramelised sugar on top. Yum!

2014-12-05 20.36.55


Choux pastry
adapted from Christophe Felder

For the pastry:

  • 125 ml water,
  • 125 ml full fat milk,
  • 115 g of butter,
  • 1 tbsp. sugar,
  • 1 tbsp. salt,
  • 140 g of flour,
  • 5 eggs.
  1. Mix water, milk, butter sugar and salt and bring to boil over medium heat.
  2. When the mixture is boiling take it off the heat and quickly beat in the flour with a wooden spoon. Return to the heat and dry it out over medium heat for about 30 seconds, mixing constantly.
  3. Transfer the dough to a bowl to stop cooking. Let it cool a couple of minutes.
  4. Add one egg at a time to the mixture, beating it with a wooden spoon. Make sure one is fully incorporated before you add the next one. The finale dough should be really shiny and just fall out from the spoon.
  5. Transfer the mixture to a pastry bag and pipe 2.5 cm circles leaving around 2.5 cm space in between.
  6. Bake in the middle of the oven with bottom & top heat (don’t use the convective heat, they need to dry out) for 20 minutes at 180 degrees.
  7. When they are completely cooled use a piping bag to put the filling of your choice through the whole at the back.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

